LOCSU Board welcomes new Directors

22 December 2011

The Local Optical Committee Support Unit (LOCSU) has announced changes to its Board with the appointment of three new Directors with a wealth of optical sector experience. 

Following the retirement of former Association of Optometrists (AOP) Director, Robin Banks from the LOCSU Board, LOCSU Chairman Alan Tinger has announced that the AOP has nominated Kevin Thompson, AOP Director, as Robin’s replacement. Richard Carswell, Acting Chief Executive of the AOP, will also join the LOCSU Board to replace former Chief Executive of the AOP, Bob Hughes.  Meanwhile, the Federation of Ophthalmic and Dispensing Opticians (FODO) has nominated Paul Carroll, FODO Director, as their representative on the LOCSU Board.  This vacancy arose from the change in the role of Alan Tinger who was the previous FODO representative on the LOCSU Board and has since moved to become LOCSU’s part-time Executive Chairman. 

Alan Tinger, Chairman of LOCSU, welcomed the appointments saying:

“We are extremely grateful for Robin’s expertise and advice throughout the early development of LOCSU. Likewise, Bob Hughes made a fundamental contribution to the formation and development of LOCSU. We thank them both for all their considerable endeavours on behalf of LOCSU. 

“Our new Board appointees Kevin, Richard and Paul all have a breadth of experience in so many aspects of the sector which will be invaluable to LOCSU as we encourage more optical professionals to become involved in their Local and Regional Optical Committees.”


Contact us

Dates for the diary

National Optical Conference 2018

Chesford Grange hotel, Nr Kenilworth, Warwick CV8 2LD

Annual NOC for LOC officers and its members

2018-11-14 17:00:00 - 2018-11-15 17:30:00

Contact email: info@locsu.co.uk

Contact telephone number: 020 7549 2051

East Yorkshire LOC's AGM

Village Hotel, Henry Boot Way, Hull HU4 7DY

Annual AGM

2018-11-19 18:30:00 - 2018-11-19 21:00:00

Contact name: Ean Blair

Contact email: ean@optometrics.co.uk

Contact telephone number: 07768 492806

View all events